Removing a contact

Forgetting a contact


Removing a contact


To remove a contact from your subscribers list, go to "Subscribers" (1) and then click on "All subscribers" (2).



The list of subscribers appears. In the top right corner is a search box. Write the email of the contact you want to remove to the search box and press enter.


The contact appears in the search results. To remove the contact, click on "Unsubscribe" (or delete from the red "x") next to the contact address.



We recommend to use the "Unsubscribe" option - in that case the contact will be unsubscribed and even if the email gets imported to the database again, its status will still remain as unsubscribed. If you just delete the contact, it will be removed from the database, but if the email gets imported again, it will get newsletters again (deleting doesn't change the email status to unsubscribed).


NB! Deleting lists, i.e filters does not delete the subscribers in those lists. All the subscribers that were in the list will still remain in the all subscribers database, only the filter will be deleted. If you wish to delete a whole list of subscribers at once, please contact our helpdesk via support@smaily.com.



Forgetting a contact


If a contact requests to be forgotten in accordance with the EU data privacy laws, then you have to remove them with the "Forget subscriber" button. To forget the contact, go to "Subscribers" -> "All subscribers" -> write the email of the contact you want to forget to the search box in the upper right corner and press enter -> click on the email address in the search results. A pop-up window opens with the subscriber data. In the bottom right corner of the pop-up window is a button "Forget subscriber". Click on that button.



A confirmation window appears, where you have to confirm this is the activity you wish to do, because it will permanently delete the subscriber and all of the statistics data will be anonymized.


By forgetting a subscriber, everything related with the subscriber will be gone for good, including:

  • e-mail address
  • All additional data, if present
  • Unsubscribe status
  • Statistics (for the integrity of analytics, subscriber's sends, opens and clicks will be anonymized)


In the confirmation window, click on "Yes, forget subscriber data".